Guides

Best Free Interactive Demo Software: 7 Free Plans Compared

What each interactive demo tool's free plan really includes, from demo limits to watermarks, with Proovyt's Free plan first.

A free plan is the cheapest way to find out whether interactive demos work for your product. It is also where vendors set their limits most carefully. One published demo, a watermark on every step, or editing tools held back for a paid plan can turn a free trial into a sales call.

The short answer. Proovyt's Free plan gives 1 creator 3 published demos and every editing tool, including blur, replace text and change numbers. Published demos carry a small Made with Proovyt badge. Other free plans below were read from vendor pricing pages on 6 October 2026.

For more on this topic, read Best Interactive Demo Software.

Free Plans at a Glance

Tool What the free plan includes Watermark or badge First paid plan, annual per month
Proovyt 1 creator, 3 published demos, every editing tool, view counts Small Made with Proovyt badge Creator $35
Supademo 1 creator, 5 demos Not stated Scale $38 per creator
Storylane 1 creator, 1 live demo Not confirmed Starter $40
Arcade 1 demo and 1 video Watermarked, no removal on Free Growth $42.50 per seat
Guideflow 5 guideflows Watermarked Solo $35
Layerpath 3 published projects Watermarked exports Pro $50 monthly
Navattic Starter, 1 seat, 1 demo Not stated Not published

HowdyGo had no free plan on 6 October 2026. It offered a 14-day trial instead.

What to Look for in a Free Plan

A free plan is useful if it lets you publish something real. Check four things.

  1. How many demos you can publish. One live demo is a test. Three lets you cover a homepage, a launch and a sales email.
  2. Which editing tools are included. If blur is held back, you cannot safely publish a screen with customer data on it.
  3. What the viewer sees. A badge is a small line. A watermark across the screen changes how the demo reads.
  4. What happens when you upgrade. Ask whether your demos carry over and what the first paid plan costs.

1. Proovyt Free

Proovyt's Free plan is the same product as the paid plans, with fewer published demos and a badge.

What you get.

  • 1 creator and 3 published demos.
  • Recording with the Proovyt Capture Chrome extension, and importing screenshots you already have.
  • Every editing tool. Blur and redact, replace text, change a number, labels, highlights, hotspots, callouts and step zoom up to 3x.
  • A hosted link and an embed for each published demo.
  • Basic view counts.

What it leaves out.

  • A small Made with Proovyt badge shows on published demos. Every paid plan removes it.
  • The brand kit, full analytics and owned HTML export start on Creator.
  • Password and expiring links, lead capture and HTML capture start on Pro.

Upgrading. Check out with the same email and the paid plan is added to your existing account. Creator is $35 a month billed annually or $45 monthly.

2. Supademo Free

What the research shows. 1 creator and 5 demos. Analytics, branching and collaboration sit on Scale, the first paid plan, at $38 per creator a month billed annually on 6 October 2026.

Worth knowing. On screenshot demos, Supademo documents blur, crop and annotate. Changing text on a captured screen needs an HTML demo on Business.

3. Storylane Free

What the research shows. 1 creator and 1 live demo. Starter, at $40 a month billed annually on 6 October 2026, adds unlimited demos, HubSpot and translations.

Worth knowing. One live demo is enough to test the format, not to run it across a site.

4. Arcade Free

What the research shows. 1 demo and 1 video. Output is watermarked and the watermark cannot be removed on Free. Growth, at $42.50 per seat a month billed annually on 6 October 2026, removes it and adds branching, calls to action, forms and translations.

Worth knowing. Arcade's homepage now leads with AI video.

5. Guideflow Free

What the research shows. 5 guideflows, watermarked. Solo, at $35 a month billed annually or $40 monthly on 6 October 2026, removes the watermark and adds AI content, translation and video or GIF export.

Worth knowing. HTML capture starts on Growth at $499 a month billed annually.

6. Layerpath Free

What the research shows. 3 published projects, with watermarked exports. Pro was $50 a month on 6 October 2026.

Worth knowing. Layerpath has moved toward producing several kinds of content from one capture.

7. Navattic Starter

What the research shows. A free Starter plan with 1 seat and 1 demo. Paid tiers are custom and billed annually, with no published price.

Worth knowing. You cannot see the price of the next step without contacting sales.

Free Plan or Free Trial

A free plan has no end date. A free trial gives you the paid product for a set time. HowdyGo used a 14-day trial on 6 October 2026. A free plan suits a slow evaluation or a team that only needs a few demos. A trial suits a team that already knows it will buy and wants to test the full feature set.

When a Free Plan Is Enough

  • You have one product flow to show and it does not change often.
  • A small badge on the demo is acceptable.
  • View counts are enough to tell you whether people watch.

Upgrade when you need more published demos, your own brand on every step, a file you own, or analytics that show where viewers stop. The full ladder is in interactive demo software pricing, and the lowest paid plans are in the cheapest interactive demo software.

What You Can Build on Proovyt Free

Three published demos is enough to run interactive demos properly on a small site. A typical setup looks like this.

  1. A homepage demo. One short flow that shows the main job your product does.
  2. A feature demo. The flow behind your newest or most asked-about feature, embedded on its page.
  3. A help demo. The task customers ask about most, embedded in a help article.

Each one gets a hosted link and an embed snippet. Views from embeds count in your view totals, so you can see which of the three people open.

Because every editing tool is included, the free demos do not have to look like a trial. You can:

  • Blur customer emails and names, with the blur baked into the pixels on publish.
  • Replace a test account's $0.00 with a total that tells the story.
  • Zoom a step up to 3x on the hotspot so small text is readable.
  • Add an intro card with a title and an end card with buttons that send viewers somewhere next.

What you cannot do on Free is remove the small badge, apply a brand kit, export an HTML file you own, or see completion and drop-off by step. Those start on Creator.

Start on Proovyt Free

Record a flow, blur what stays private, and publish your first demo. See what each plan includes.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is there a free interactive demo tool with no limits? Not among the tools we compared. Every free plan limits demos, adds a badge or watermark, or both. Proovyt's Free plan limits you to 3 published demos with a small badge, and keeps every editing tool.

Which free plan lets me blur sensitive data? Proovyt's Free plan includes blur and redact, and the blur is baked into the pixels when you publish. See how to blur sensitive data in a product demo.

Do Proovyt free demos have a watermark? They carry a small Made with Proovyt badge. Every paid plan removes it.

Can I embed a demo on the free plan? In Proovyt, yes. Every published demo has a hosted link and an embed snippet, Free included.

What happens to my demos when I upgrade? In Proovyt, you check out with the same email and the paid plan is added to your existing account, with your demos in it.

Filed Under
  • Guides
  • Free Tools
  • Software Comparison