
Walnut works for many teams, and some outgrow it or never quite fit it. The reasons are usually price, plan gates or direction. Below are the tools worth comparing, starting with Proovyt, each described from its own pricing page and documentation.
The short answer. If you want to change text and numbers on a captured screen on every plan, own an HTML file of your demo from $35 a month, and pay per seat from one person, Proovyt is the first alternative to look at. The other tools below are described factually so you can see how they differ from Walnut.
For the head-to-head, Proovyt vs Walnut and Proovyt vs Consensus compare Proovyt with each tool feature by feature.
Competitor prices were read from vendor pricing pages and named sources on 6 October 2026. They change, so check before you buy.
The Options at a Glance
| Tool | Built for | Entry price | HTML capture |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1. Proovyt | Editing the screen and owning the file | $35 a month (Creator) | Pro, $79 a month for one person (in beta) |
| 2. Navattic | B2B SaaS marketing and sales teams that want HTML captures and sales tool integrations on an annual contract | Custom, annual (Base) | Every paid plan |
| 3. Storylane | Go-to-market teams that want HTML demos, an AI layer and CRM links, and can budget for a 5-seat plan | $40 a month (Starter) | Growth, $500 a month for 5 seats |
| 4. Reprise | Enterprise presales teams that need live data injection and full clones | Not published | Included |
| 5. Demostack | Enterprise teams that need full product simulations | Quote only | Clones instead |
| 6. Consensus | Large sales organizations that want video, tours and live overlay from one vendor | Quote, priced on viewers and seats | Not documented |
Why Teams Look for a Walnut Alternative
- There is no free plan or trial.
- Pricing is not published first-hand. Third-party reproductions put entry near $575 a month billed annually.
- Vendr reports real contracts from $7,900 to $36,700 a year.
What Walnut Is
Walnut is a sales-led demo platform for B2B go-to-market teams, built on HTML capture, with deal rooms and AI agents.
- Raised a $35M Series B led by Felicis in January 2022, $56M in total.
- Cut its headcount from about 120 to about 60 across 2023 and 2024.
- Launched an Interactive Deal Room in July 2025 and an AI agent platform in September 2026.
Capture. HTML capture through a Chrome extension, screenshot capture, and Figma capture.
Editing.
- AI Mode rewrites text, finds and replaces across templates, turns text into variables, changes fonts and colors, blurs content and edits HTML tables and some charts.
- Global Edits apply one change across a whole template.
- Its AI cannot generate whole new screens. New screens come from capture, a screens library, or Figma and PowerPoint import.
Walnut Pricing
| Plan | Price | What it adds |
|---|---|---|
| Ignite | About $575 a month, billed annually | 3 editor and 3 presenter seats (third-party reproduction) |
| Accelerate | About $1,550 a month, billed annually | Sandboxes, personalization, SSO and SCIM (third-party reproduction) |
| Scale | Custom | Deal rooms, translations, API |
How We Evaluated the Options
Each tool is described against the same questions, using only published pricing pages, product documentation and public records.
- Editing. Can you change text and numbers on a captured screen, and on which plan?
- Ownership. Can you keep a file that plays without the vendor?
- Price shape. What does one person pay, and what do five people pay?
- HTML capture. Which plan includes it, and at what price?
- Direction. Is the product still centred on interactive demos?
The 6 Alternatives
1. Proovyt
Best for: founders, product marketers and small teams who want to edit the screen and keep the file.
Proovyt is an interactive demo maker built around two ideas. You can change what is on the screen, and you can keep what you make.
- Edit the screenshot itself. Blur names and figures, replace a word or a line, change a number, add a label or highlight one area. This works on every plan, Free included. Blur is baked into the pixels when you publish or export, so the original is not sitting underneath.
- Own the file. From Creator at $35 a month billed annually, you can export a demo as an HTML file that plays with no connection to Proovyt.
- Share it safely. Pro at $79 a month billed annually adds password-protected links, expiring links, lead capture and per-viewer analytics with CSV export, all for one person. HTML capture is on Pro and Team and is in beta.
- Pay per seat. Team is $49 per seat a month billed annually, from 2 seats, with everything in Pro for every seat. There is no 5-seat bundle.
Proovyt does not do everything these tools do. Sandbox demos, AI voiceover or video, branching, CRM integrations, SSO and custom domains are not part of Proovyt yet. Custom domains are coming to Pro. If your plan depends on one of those today, weigh that honestly.
Pricing: Free with 3 published demos. Creator $35 a month billed annually. Pro $79 a month billed annually. Team $49 per seat a month billed annually, from 2 seats. See the pricing page.
2. Navattic
Best for: B2B SaaS marketing and sales teams that want HTML captures and sales tool integrations on an annual contract.
Navattic is a no-code interactive demo platform for B2B SaaS go-to-market teams, built around HTML captures.
What it offers
- Web captures, which are HTML copies of a browser app with scrolling and hover states, plus screenshot and video captures.
- Direct text edits, find and replace across captures, a CSS panel and raw HTML edits.
Tradeoffs
- No published prices for paid plans.
- Paid plans start as a 5-seat annual contract.
- Offline demos only on Enterprise.
Pricing: Starter $0. Base Custom, billed annually. Growth Custom. Enterprise Custom.
3. Storylane
Best for: go-to-market teams that want HTML demos, an AI layer and CRM links, and can budget for a 5-seat plan.
Storylane is a demo platform for B2B go-to-market teams. Its homepage now leads with AI SDRs as well as interactive demos.
What it offers
- Screenshot, video and HTML capture through a Chrome extension and a desktop app.
- Screenshot screens support blur, crop, annotations, zoom and background replace. In-image text editing is not documented for screenshots.
Tradeoffs
- No documented text edits on screenshot screens.
- HTML capture starts at $500 a month inside a 5-seat bundle.
- Salesforce and SSO wait for the $1,200 Premium tier.
Pricing: Free $0. Starter $40 annual, $50 monthly. Growth $500 annual, $625 monthly. Premium $1,200 annual, $1,500 monthly. Enterprise Custom.
4. Reprise
Best for: enterprise presales teams that need live data injection and full clones.
Reprise is an enterprise demo platform that sells product tours, data injection on the live product, and full application clones.
What it offers
- Replay for HTML product tours, Reveal for data injection over the real app, and Replicate for application clones.
- An HTML editor that can add new HTML, edit CSS, create nodes and show unreleased features.
Tradeoffs
- No published prices.
- Real contracts reported by Vendr run from $20,345 to $99,300 a year, median $31,600.
Pricing: Not published. An annual platform fee plus per-user licenses.
5. Demostack
Best for: enterprise teams that need full product simulations.
Demostack is an enterprise product simulation platform built around a patented cloner and sandboxes.
What it offers
- A cloner that captures how the front end talks to the backend, producing independent demo environments that reset automatically. Also Overlay on a production URL.
- Edits to text, numbers, images and workflows in clones.
Tradeoffs
- Quote-only pricing.
- Real contracts reported by Vendr run from $21,100 to $52,803 a year, median $32,960.
- Onboarding fees on top.
Pricing: Quote only, with onboarding fees reported by Vendr.
6. Consensus
Best for: large sales organizations that want video, tours and live overlay from one vendor.
Consensus is a demo automation company that began with recorded video demos and now calls itself an agentic product experience platform.
What it offers
- Video demos, interactive tours, live product simulations and, through Saleo, live data overlay on the real product.
- We found no first-party documentation of its screen editing depth.
Tradeoffs
- Pricing by viewer volume and quote only.
- Real contracts reported by Vendr run from $10,748 to $140,985 a year, median $53,296.
- Editing depth is not documented.
Pricing: Quote only, on Growth, Business and Enterprise tiers sized by monthly viewers.
Comparison Matrix
| Proovyt | Navattic | Storylane | Reprise | Demostack | Consensus | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free plan | 3 published demos, small badge | 1 demo | 1 live demo | Try for Free, terms not found | None | None |
| Entry paid price | $35 a month (Creator) | Custom, annual (Base) | $40 a month (Starter) | Not published | Quote only | Quote, priced on viewers and seats |
| HTML capture | Pro, $79 a month for one person (in beta) | Every paid plan | Growth, $500 a month for 5 seats | Included | Clones instead | Not documented |
| Five people | $245 on Team, every Pro feature per seat | Custom, 5-seat Base | $200 on Starter, $500 on Growth with HTML | Annual contract | Annual contract | Annual contract |
| Text edits on screens | Every plan, Free included | HTML captures | HTML screens only | HTML editor | In clones | Not documented |
| Offline or owned file | Owned HTML export from Creator ($35) | Enterprise | Growth ($500) | Offline mode included | Not stated publicly | Not stated publicly |
| Custom domain | Not yet. Coming to Pro | Growth or Enterprise | Premium ($1,200) | Not stated publicly | Not stated publicly | Not stated publicly |
How to Choose
- You need to change what is on the screen without HTML capture. Proovyt edits text and numbers on screenshots on every plan.
- You want a file you own. Proovyt exports HTML from Creator at $35. Check where offline or owned output sits in the matrix above for the others.
- You are one person sharing demos with prospects. Proovyt Pro adds password and expiring links, lead capture and per-viewer analytics for one person.
- You are a small team. Proovyt Team is per seat from 2 seats. Compare that with the 5- and 10-seat bundles in the tables above.
- You need sandboxes, AI video, branching, CRM sync or SSO today. Proovyt does not offer these yet. The tools above that do are described with their prices.
The Bottom Line
No single tool here wins on every line. Some lead with AI, some with sales integrations, some with enterprise clones. Proovyt starts with the screen itself and the file you keep. If that matches how you publish demos, start on the Free plan and rebuild one real demo before you decide.
More Walnut Guides
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the closest alternative to Walnut? It depends on what you use Walnut for. If you mainly capture flows and need to change text, numbers or names on the screen, Proovyt does that on every plan and adds an owned HTML export from $35 a month.
Is there a cheaper alternative to Walnut? Walnut does not publish prices. Third-party copies of its pricing page put its entry plan at about $575 a month, billed annually. Proovyt Creator is $35 a month billed annually, and Pro, with HTML capture in beta, is $79 for one person.
Which Walnut alternative has HTML capture? Proovyt has HTML capture on Pro and Team, in beta. The other tools in this list place it on the plans shown in the comparison matrix.
Can I keep my demos if I leave Walnut? Check what export Walnut offers on your plan. On Proovyt, Creator and above export a demo as an HTML file that plays with no connection to Proovyt.
What does Proovyt not do yet? Sandbox demos, AI voiceover or video, branching, CRM integrations, SSO and custom domains are not part of Proovyt yet. Custom domains are coming to Pro.
